How to leave copies of messages on your email server

To leave copies of email messages on the messaging server, follow the steps for the appropriate email application.  In order for Contactually to work with your email account, the system needs to be able to access saved email messages.

For Windows

Outlook 2013
  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Click the File tab > Account settings.
  3. Highlight your current POP3 account and click Change.
  4. Note: The window that opens will tell you what type of email account you have. (Look under Type.)
  5. Choose More settings and click on Advanced.
  6. You should see a check box titled: Leave a copy of messages on the server.
  7. Checking the box will enable Leave a copy of the message on the server.
Note: Enabling Leave a copy of the message on the server will allow you to access your email from multiple computers.
Microsoft Outlook 2010
  1. Click File.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Select the appropriate email account.
  4. Click Change.
  5. Click More Settings.
  6. Click the Advanced tab.
  7. Select the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Next.
  10. Click Finish.
  11. Click Close.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.
Microsoft Outlook 2007
  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Click Change.
  4. Click More Settings.
  5. Click the Advanced tab.
  6. Select the Leave a copy of the message on the server check box.
  7. Click OK.
  8. Click Next.
  9. Click Finish.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.
Microsoft Outlook XP, 2002, 2003
  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Email Accounts.
  3. Select View or Change an existing email address, or click the Email tab.
  4. Select the email account.
  5. Click Change.
  6. Click More Settings.
  7. Click the Advanced tab.
  8. Select the Leave a copy of the message on server check box.
  9. Click Finish.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.
Mozilla Thunderbird 1
  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Account Settings.
  3. Under the account name, click Server Settings.
  4. Select the Leave messages on server check box.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.
Windows Live Mail
  1. Right-click the email account in the left pane and click Properties.
  2. Click the Advanced tab.
  3. Select the check box beside Leave a copy of message on server.
  4. Click OK.
IncrediMail
  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. Select the email account, and then click Properties.
  4. Click the Advanced tab.
  5. Select the Leave a copy of messages on server check box.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.
Internet Mail
  1. Click Mail.
  2. Click Options.
  3. Select the Server tab.
  4. Click Advanced Settings.
  5. Clear the Leave a copy of messages on server check box.
  6. Click OK.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email message will be permanently removed from the messaging server.

For Macintosh

Mac Mail/Mac OS 10.1
  1. Click Mail.
  2. Click Preferences.
  3. Make sure that the correct address is highlighted, and then click Edit.
  4. Click the Account Options tab.
  5. Make sure that the Delete messages from server after downloading check box is not selected.
Note: Mac Mail does not have an option to remove email messages from the messaging server after a specified number of days.
Apple Mail on Mac OS X
  1. Click Mail.
  2. Click Preferences.
  3. Click the Accounts tab, and select the appropriate email account.
  4. Click the Advanced tab.
  5. Clear the Remove copy from the server after retrieving a message check box.
  6. Click OK.
Note: Mail does not have an option to remove email messages from the messaging server after a specified number of days.
Microsoft Outlook 2011
  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click the Accounts tab, and select the appropriate email account.
  3. Advanced tab.
  4. Leave a copy of each message on server check box.
  5. OK
Microsoft Entourage X
  1. Click Tools.
  2. Click Accounts.
  3. Make sure that the correct email account is highlighted, and then click Edit.
  4. On the Edit Account screen, click the Options tab.
  5. Select the Leave a copy of each message on the server check box.
Note: When the check box is cleared, deleted email messages will be permanently removed from the messaging server.